Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

 

“Day 092/366 – To Do List” by Great Beyond is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Your toughest work is defining what your work is! –  Peter Drucker

SUMMARY

This week I finished up some old work, did work for my paid job, and completed the tasks on my enormous to-do list such as my EE Criterion A, Spanish blog post, Italy history assignment, UW application, and more. There were a handful of things I didn’t get around to unfortunately, but I should be able to wrap those up this upcoming week.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

Image of David Allen at TED Talk
Screenshot from David Allen TED Talk

In this ‘room’ you are going to try Getting Things Done (GTD).

STEP 1: MAKE A LIST

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • EE Criterion A
  • Apply for AES scholarship
  • Submit application to Colorado Boulder
  • Work on UW application
  • Sneakonthelot two lessons
  • Figure out Celtx
  • Interview people at Solomon’s Reef
  • Italy history assignment
  • Chem LTS 4-7
  • Chem assessment
  • Work on Chem IA Procedure
  • Spanish blog post
  • Finish discussion posts in English
  • Review/study calc
  • Take calc test
  • Meeting materials for community transit job
  • Recruitment summary and updated applicant list
  • Schedule interviews for Lewis County job
  • TOK think of history topic

STEP 2: NOTICE WHAT YOU NOTICED

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • Italy history assignment
  • Spanish blog post
  • Submit application to Colorado Boulder
  • Work on UW application
  • EE Criterion A
  • Meeting materials for community transit job
  • Recruitment summary and updated applicant list
  • Schedule interviews for Lewis County job
  • Sneakonthelot two lessons
  • Figure out Celtx
  • Interview people at Solomon’s Reef
  • Chem LTS 4-7
  • Chem assessment
  • Finish discussion posts in English
  • Review/study calc
  • Take calc test
  • Apply for AES scholarship
  • Work on Chem IA Procedure
  • TOK think of history topic

STEP 3: SET A TIMER

https://giphy.com/gifs/time-clock-konczakowski-d3yxg15kJppJilnW
  1. Set a timer for your first task
    1. Decide how long you think it will take before you start
  2. Start working
  3. Repeat this process for 45 minutes for as many tasks as you can complete, then take a 15-minute break
    • Get up and get a drink of water
    • Get up and go for a walk
    • Every 20 minute blink your eyes 20 times while looking at least 20 feet away
      • This is good for your eyes

Start steps 1 through 3 again, repeat for your school day

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

David Allen image
Oct. 2020 Lucidchart interview with David Allen
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
  • Reflect on GTD and getting to the top of the colorful list above for a minute
    • How can the GTD process help you tame the crazy-busy dragon of modern life?

  • Then, go for a 15-minute walk, if it is safe to do so
  • Write a few sentence reflection

OPTIONAL EXERCISE – Literally, read the article and go for another walk 🙂

 Katia Verresen homepage
Katia Verresen, kvaleadership.com

“I coach C-suite executives and rising stars from the earliest startups to Fortune 100 companies. My passion is to help ambitious leaders achieve their full human potential.”  – Read more about Katia…

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I learned that sometimes I need to let myself breathe in between assignments and classes or else I won’t be able to function. I also learned I work best when there is white noise around me so I’ve started using coffee shop background noise. One problem I had to solve was for my Language and Literature class I have been planning to interview people who work at local restaurants, but none of them have been answering my calls or calling me back and I can’t go interview them in person, so now I am behind on the deadline. My solution was to change my article topic slightly so I don’t need these interviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *