Awake and Start

Evidence

Script

using System.Collections;
using UnityEngine;

public class AwakeAndStart : MonoBehaviour
{
    void Awake()
    {
        Debug.Log(“Awake called.”);
    }

    void Start()
    {
        Debug.Log(“Start called.”);
    }
}

Screencast

What I Learned

This tutorial shows how to use the awake and start functions in a script. It clarifies the order in which they appear, and how they should be used. In my screencast I show how the awake and start functions appear in the console view. One problem I had to solve was actually finding the console view in Unity so I could record it. Because of this I had a couple rough first takes of the screencast, but otherwise the tutorial was easy to follow and didn’t take too long to do.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *