Making A Flappy Bird Style Game

Summary

For this game, I learned a lot about basic scripting, animation, components, and more fundamental concepts of building a game in Unity. When I first started this project, I was already running into problems (being me). The first thing I did wrong was make the game in 3D instead of 2D, and then I became extremely confused when all of a sudden I couldn’t import certain sprites into my hierarchy view. To solve this problem I asked Bryce, who sits next to me, and he pointed out my mistake and also cracked a couple jokes about my IQ. The next problem I ran into was writing the script. As it was my first script, I didn’t realize how nit-picky you had to be with all the little semi-colons and periods and indents, so my first draft didn’t work at all. I had to go back through the tutorial’s script and compare it to my own about 10 times to get it completely right. The third big problem I ran into was recording the animation. For some reason, as I followed the tutorial, the recording button for them started automatically. On my computer, I figured out I had to start recording my animation manually, but after around the fifth animating attempt. Unfortunately, after I finished animating, I left on a trip to California for the week. I took my laptop with me and actually redid everything I had already done, and much faster as I knew what I was doing this time, but I still didn’t have the time to finish the game. This is also why my screencast is recorded in the personal edition, in case you were wondering. All in all, this tutorial was a great way to get introduced to Unity and I learned a lot and solved a lot of problems.

Click here for the link to the Flappy Bird tutorials

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *